Revision of Who spoke at the Seattle FCC hearing? from Fri, 2006-12-01 19:11

At the Nov. 30 Seattle FCC Media Ownership hearing, event co-chairs Frank Blethen (publisher, The Seattle Times) and Sharon Maeda (Spectra Communications/Reclaim the Media) first introduced Congressman Jay Inslee; his comments were followed by remarks from the two FCC Commissioners in attendance, Michael Copps and Jonathan Adelstein.

Public testimony began with a group of invited speakers:

Jean Godden, Seattle City Council
Mike Fancher, Seattle Times
John Carlson, KVI/KOMO
Robert Jeffrey, Colors NW
Mark Emmert, President, University of Washington
Diane Lachel, Tacoma Click!
John Sandifer, Seattle AFTRA
Joel Kelsey, Consumers Union
Mai Nguyen, Making Connections
David Groves, Washington State State Labor Council
Kathy Gill, UW Department of Communication

Testimony continued at an open microphone until the Library needed to close the building, about 45 minutes past the hearing's scheduled end. Some people who had signed up to speak were unable to get their turn on the mic; many others submitted written comments. (This list has not been checked against the recording and may not be entirely accurate):

Todd Boyle
Andrew Skotdal, KRKO Everett
Emily Horswill
Kathy Schrier, Washington Journalism Education Association
Bill Wippel
Leigh Robartes, KRFP-LP Moscow
Dennis Lane
Sylvia Haven
David Friedman
Suzette West, Legend Heart Records
Jeff Hoyt, Voice of Vashon
Rebecca Campbell
Monica Hill
Bill Schrier, Chief Technology Officer, City of Seattle
Liz Brown, Pacific Northwest Newspaper Guild
Bryan Johnson KAOS Olympia
Margaret Swartzman
Bob Grubbs
Kenneth Moninski
Ken LeBlond, UW School of Public Affairs
Danny "Khazm" Kogita, Zulu Radio
George Robertson
Jennifer Power, Action Northwest
Judy Martinez, Coolout TV
Tim Treanor, Online Video Service
Gavin Dahl, KAOS Olympia
Seth Kupchick
Kathleen Warren
Lila Kitaeff, Pepperspray Productions
Suzanne Blais, Black Dog Productions
Jeff Hanson
Kenneth Meyer
Jan Strout, National Organization for Women
Lyle Courtsal
Joyce Glasgow
Dick Schwartz
Mark Taylor-Canfield, Free Speech Radio News/KBCS
Doug Underwood, UW Dept. of Communication
Jerome Chroman, University Unitarian
Robert Kam, Thurston County Television
Jim Nibblett
David Ward
Tom Killorin, KSER Everett
Olemara Peters
Julie Chang Schulman
David Gordon
Eric Apoe
Ryan Morden
Karen Weill
Larry Hildes, NLG Center for Democratic Communications
John Anthony Yost
Mary Kathryn Rountree, KRFP-LP Moscow

The media's job is to interest the public in the public interest. -John Dewey