Media Heroes trading cards honor media activists, journalists, teachers

Reclaim the Media is honoring some of its media heroes by publishing a deck of trading cards recognizing the accomplishments of twenty-one praiseworthy journalists, media activists, and educators.

The honored media heroes include historical figures such as legendary anti-lynching reporter Ida B. Wells, Newspaper Guild founder Heywood Broun, and Elias Boudinot, founder/editor of the first Native American newspaper, the Cherokee Phoenix. Also recognized are contemporary media movers and shakers, including intrepid PBS producer Bill Moyers, Paper Tiger TV co-founder DeeDee Halleck, Puerto Rican community activist Richie Pérez, and others. Organizations or collaborations singled out for hero status include news program Democracy Now!, media watch group FAIR, and the Children's Television Workshop, creators of Sesame Street.

RTM executive director Jonathan Lawson said of the cards: "We're proud to honor just a small handful of our heroes - media activists, journalists and teachers who have worked passionately and creatively to promote justice and civic engagement. We hope that these educational cards will inspire more people to follow the examples of our heroes – expanding critical conversations about journalism, and ensuring the health of media that supports democratic values and communications rights."

Each 'Media Heroes' card features original artwork by Seattle artist Michael Leavitt and a brief biographical profile. The cards, set to make a national debut this week at the National Conference on Media Reform in Minneapolis, are also available as a deck from Reclaim the Media's website. The website also invites visitors to submit their own media heroes.

The complete list of honorees is as follows:

Elias Boudinot, editor of the Cherokee Phoenix
Heywood Broun, founder of the Newspaper Guild
Children's Television Workshop, creators of Sesame Street
Democracy Now!, independent news program
Frederick Douglass, editor of the North Star
Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting, media watch organization
DeeDee Halleck, filmmaker and media activist
Lew Hill, founder of Pacifica Radio
Indymedia, network of grassroots media collectives
Florynce Kennedy, feminist media activist
Jean Kilbourne, media literacy educator
Myoung Joon Kim,labor media activist
Dirk Koning, community media activist
Media Justice
Bill Moyers, PBS producer
Rev. Everett Parker, civil rights leader
Richie Pérez, community activist
Prometheus Radio Project, low-power radio activist group
Ruben Salazar, print/TV journalist
María Suárez Toro, feminist radio producer
Ida B. Wells, investigative journalist

Based in Seattle since 2002, Reclaim the Media provides public education and advocacy on media issues, as part of a movement to achieve a more just media system. The group is a founding member of both the national Media and Democracy Coalition and the Media Action Grassroots Network (MAG-Net).

More on RTM's media heroes

Order cards online

article originally published at .

The media's job is to interest the public in the public interest. -John Dewey